Dementia is a degenerative brain disorder that causes cognitive decline, including memory loss, difficulty speaking, and poor judgment. It is the main cause of mortality and disability among the elderly. The seven stages of dementia before dying in 2023 are covered in this article.

Read More:

Stage 1: No Cognitive Decline

Dementia’s first stage is frequently referred to as the “period of normal functioning.” At this stage of dementia development, a patient often does not display any serious memory problems or cognitive impairment. The first three stages of dementia are often referred to as “pre-dementia” phases.

Stage 2: Age-Associated Memory Impairment

Periodic memory lapses are common throughout this time and usually occur in:

  • Forgetting where you put anything
  • Names that were once highly familiar disappearing

This modest memory loss is often just typical aging-related cognitive decline, but it may also be one of the first symptoms of degenerative dementia. Clinical testing is still unable to find any symptoms at this time. Any further symptoms should raise suspicions about early-onset dementia.

Stage 3: Mild Cognitive Impairment

Stage 3 sees the emergence of definite cognitive issues. Several indicators of dementia stage 3 include:

  • Easily getting lost
  • Inconsistently doing poorly at work Forgetting the names of loved ones and close acquaintances
  • Having trouble remembering what you read in a book or chapter
  • Misplacing or losing significant items
  • difficulty paying attention

Patients often experience moderate to severe anxiety when these symptoms start to impair their everyday lives more and more.  Patients who believe they may be in this stage of dementia are recommended to meet with a doctor for a clinical interview.

Stage 4: Mild Dementia

At this point, people could retreat socially and display personality and mood changes. Denial of symptoms is a common defensive strategy in stage 4. Here are a few things to look out for:

  • decreased awareness of recent and/or past occurrences
  • difficulty remembering specifics from one’s past
  • reduced ability to plan vacations, handle finances, etc.
  • Disorientation
  • Having trouble recognizing people and faces

People with stage 4 dementia have no problem identifying known persons or going to familiar places. To mask symptoms or minimize stress or worry, patients in this stage often avoid demanding settings.

Stage 5: Moderate Dementia

Patients at stage 5 need some help to go about their everyday lives. The primary indicator of stage 5 dementia is the inability to recall important information, including the name of a close relative or a home location. Patients could lose their sense of time and location, struggle to make choices, and forget personal details like their address or phone number.

Patients at this level do not need help with fundamental activities like eating or using the toilet, despite the fact that mild dementia may impair basic functioning. 

Patients may still be able to name their spouses and children and, in most situations, their own names.

Stage 6: Moderately Severe Dementia

When the patient forgets their spouse, children, or primary caretakers, they are reaching stage 6 of dementia and will require full-time care. The sixth stage is characterised by skewed memories, ignorance of surroundings, and inability to recall recent events. Carers must know:

  • Delusional conduct
  • Obsessive signs and actions
  • Aggression, agitation, and fear
  • loss of motivation

Patients may start to stray, have trouble falling asleep, and even have hallucinations.

Stage 7: Severe Dementia

During stage 7 dementia, individuals will gradually lose their capacity to talk in addition to their motor abilities. The brain and body seem to lose contact in the last stage. Every linguistic and spoken ability is usually lost in cases of severe dementia. The person will need assistance from loved ones and carers with walking, eating, and using the restroom.

You may be able to postpone the emergence of later stages of dementia by rapidly seeking medical attention in the early stages. Although most instances of dementia advance, some may be reversible, and sometimes, diseases that resemble dementia may be brought on by curable underlying illnesses or deficits. You will be able to respond and seek assistance more quickly for yourself or a loved one if you are more aware of these phases.


In conclusion, dementia is a chronic condition that weakens cognitive ability. No impairment, very mild decline, mild decline, moderate decline, fairly severe decline, severe decline, and very severe decline are the seven stages of dementia before death in 2023. To manage the symptoms and enhance the quality of life for those with dementia, it is critical to identify the warning signs of dementia early and seek medical assistance.


Tags : stages of Dementia

The author PingQuill

Leave a Response